• Installing Legacy to a different location
When a user first installs Legacy they are asked several things like where to install, if they want backups, which components they want to install.
Once Legacy has been installed all of these prompts are skipped during future installs and Legacy will be re-installed to the same folder with the same options the user supplied the first time.
A user who wants to move Legacy or change any of the original install options should download the Legacy5Setup.exe setup program. Either the Install from the Web or the Full Setup can be used. Save the Legacy5Setup.exe to your hard drive and then rename it to LegacyNew.exe and then run it. The setup program will check to see if it has the name of LegacyNew.exe and if it does it will consider the setup to be a new installation and the user will be prompted for all of the settings a new user would see when they installed the first time.
Warning: Some people create registry problems by trying to outsmart their system: They delete the Legacy folder, or they move all of the files to a new location, or they rename the Legacy folder, or they will delete the file Install.log from the Legacy folder.
If any of these things are done there will be serious problems when you try to update your Legacy program. You may find that your build date does not change because the patches and enhancements are applied to the wrong program location: a new Legacy folder on your hard drive.
If you delete the Legacy folder, move the files to a new location, or rename the Legacy folder, or delete the Install.log, problems will also arise if you try to uninstall Legacy. The Install.log file is needed during the uninstall because it contains a script that tells the uninstall process what actions to perform to properly remove the Legacy program.
If an uninstall is unsuccessful it is because the registry entry that tells Legacy where it was originally set up was not removed or changed. Thereafter, when a user tries to re-install or update Legacy, none of the prompts for where to install, or what files to install, etc., are shown and the program is just re-installed to the original location.